The Thematic Committee on Prevention and Non Recurrence is chaired by Commissioner Dr. Tinashe Rukuni, deputised by Commissioner Nomaqhawe Gwere. It draws membership from political parties represented in the Parliament of Zimbabwe, civic society groups, women’s organizations, youths, people with disabilities and faith based organizations among others. For ease of coordination and customization of peace and conflict issues, the Commission set up Committees on Prevention and Non Recurrence for the Northern and Southern Regions. The Deputy Chairpersons are elected by members of the Committee to support the Chairperson(s). Mrs Musline Munodawafa, a senior lecturer at Women’s University in Africa and Mrs Mildred Sandi of the Women’s Coalition of Zimbabwe are Deputy Chairpersons for the Northern and Southern Region respectively.

The internal implementation department for the Thematic Committee on Prevention and Non-Recurrence policy directions is the Conflict Prevention, Management, Resolution and Transformation Department. All policy strategic decisions and guidance from the thematic committee are implemented through the leadership of General Manager; Mr. Joseph Mashingaidze who is the Head of Department and also provides secretarial support to the Thematic Committee’s programs. He thus, spearheads the execution of conflict prevention, transformation and guarantee of non-recurrence programs with support from Manager, Mr. Joseph Kauzani.


Conflict Prevention, Management, Resolution and Transformation (CPMRT)’s work is informed by provisions in Section 252 (d), (g), (h), (i) and (j) of the Constitution. CPMRT is responsible for developing mechanisms for the early detection, prevention and transformation of conflicts in Zimbabwe. It promotes dialogue, proffers alternative dispute resolution mechanisms and community based platforms for preventing and resolving conflicts such as reviewing, analysing and recommending policies, legislation and structural reforms towards building peaceful communities. CPMRT coordinates infrastructures for peace which includes thematic committees and local level peace committees in line with the National Development Strategy 1.


CPMRT Major Programmes focus on:

  1. Conflict management- efforts that are made to avoid or avert the harmful effects of conflict and these vary depending on the nature and source of conflict and are anchored on the need to create a climate of mutual trust, consideration and respect for each other;
  2. Conflict prevention-measures and actions aimed at reducing the risk of appearance or reappearance of violent confrontations within society. Some of the strategies include addressing structural sources or causes of conflict while also mitigating potential risk factors to conflict.
  3. Conflict transformation- building of long term infrastructure for peace by supporting the reconciliation potential of society, rebuilding destroyed relationships, with focus on reconciliation within society and the strengthening of society’s peace-building potential.
  4. Guarantee of Non-Recurrence- the process that seeks to make or recommend policy alternatives, systemic and institutional reforms capable of safeguarding peace within society; enhance capacities for long term prevention and shepherd the nation towards a peaceful future.